Curbless Showers

3 ways to build your curbless shower

Open concept bathrooms are coveted for their sleek design and consummate functionality. While ideal for all life stages of a growing family, curbless showers are exceptionally optimal for those who wish to age in place. The lack of threshold or curb opens up the shower area to the rest of the bathroom, making the whole room easier to clean and maintain. Flexibility in design is enhanced through the use of tile: choose simple, large-format tile for a clean and streamlined look, or craft a creative combination of field and accent tile on the floor or wall without the obstruction of a shower curb. Curbless showers allow you to create a spa-like retreat, with built-in seats and benches, inset shelves and niches, low-profile linear drains, heated floors, and even steam showers. And now, they are even easier to achieve.

Waterproofing

Waterproofing measures are essential in any bathroom, but especially important in a curbless environment. Schluter®-Systems offers a complete line of products with options that integrate together to form a fully bonded, watertight assembly for tiled curbless showers.

As with any room exposed to water and moisture, waterproofing measures must be put into place. The KERDI offering of products includes waterproofing membranes for shower walls and bases, as well as specialty pieces for all the hard-to-protect areas, such as pipe protrusions, inside and outside corners, and curbs. With KERDI, you can treat all the areas of your bathroom and ensure the entire room is waterproof.

Drains

 

KERDI-LINE

KERDI-LINE linear drains add a touch of elegance, allowing for single-sloped floors and large-format tiles that carry through from the floor, right in to the shower or wet area of the bath. Shower curbs and shower doors can disappear, offering freedom and security to individuals with limited mobility, or homeowners wanting to age in place.

KERDI-DRAIN

Point drains, such as the KERDI-DRAIN, offer a traditional alternative to linear drains. For point drains, the shower base slopes on all angles towards the drain. Install your drain of choice on top of the mortar bed or shower tray.

Floors

In curbless bathrooms, the area exposed to moisture is not confined to the shower alone, so it’s difficult to separate the “wet area” from the “dry area”. As such, the bathroom must be sufficiently protected against water and moisture as whole.

DITRA and DITRA-HEAT are waterproof, uncoupling membranes that prevent the main cause of cracked tile and grout by absorbing movement stresses from the substrate and ensuring the integrity of tiled surfaces. DITRA-HEAT provides uncoupling and waterproofing and also incorporates electric floor warming to create comfortable tiled floors. With DITRA-HEAT and DITRA, simply treat seams and connections with the KERDI-BAND waterproofing strip to create a completely waterproof bathroom.

Learn more with these helpful resources

Schluter®-DITRA: Introduction

Schluter®-DITRA-HEAT: Introduction

Douches sans seuil

Trois façons de laisser tomber le seuil

La salle de bain ouverte est recherchée pour son esthétisme et sa fonctionnalité. Les douches sans seuil, adaptées à toutes les étapes de la vie de famille, sont carrément imbattables pour répondre aux besoins de propriétaires plus âgés. De telles douches s’ouvrent sur toute la pièce et facilitent l’entretien. Le carrelage, quant à lui, offre une multitude d’options : on choisit des carreaux simples et de grand format pour obtenir une apparence épurée ou on réalise un agencement plus original en combinant des carreaux usuels et décoratifs au sol comme aux murs, sans se soucier de l’obstacle que constitue le seuil de douche. La douche sans seuil permet de créer un lieu de détente digne d’un spa, avec sièges et bancs de douche, étagères et niches intégrées, drains linéaires encastrés, plancher chauffant, et même douche vapeur. Et maintenant, sa réalisation est plus facile que jamais!

Étanchéité

Les mesures d’étanchéité sont essentielles dans toute salle de bain, et encore plus dans une pièce à accès ouvert. Schluter®-Systems propose une gamme de produits qui s’intègrent et forment ensemble un assemblage étanche entièrement collé pour les douches sans seuil.

Comme dans toute pièce exposée à l’eau et à l’humidité, on doit adopter des mesures d’étanchéité dans les douches. La gamme de produits KERDI comporte des membranes d’étanchéité pour murs et bases de douche, ainsi que des pièces spécialisées conçues pour les zones plus difficiles à protéger, comme les passages de tuyau, les coins intérieurs et extérieurs et les seuils. Les produits KERDI peuvent être posés partout pour assurer une étanchéité complète de la salle de bain.

Évacuation

 

KERDI-LINE

Les drains linéaires KERDI-LINE ajoutent une touche d’élégance et permettent la réalisation d’une pente unique et la pose de grands carreaux, en prolongement du plancher avoisinant jusqu’à l’intérieur de la douche ou de la zone humide de la baignoire. Les seuils et portes de douche disparaissent, et l’agencement procure liberté de mouvement et sécurité aux personnes à mobilité réduite ou aux propriétaires qui souhaitent vieillir sans souci à domicile.

KERDI-DRAIN

Les drains standard, comme le drain KERDI-DRAIN, offrent des solutions plus classiques. Dans ce cas, on réalise des pentes d’évacuation de tous les angles convergeant toutes vers le drain. Il suffit d’installer le drain de votre choix sur un lit de mortier ou une de base de douche.

Planchers

Dans les salles de bain accès ouvert, il n’y a pas seulement la douche qui soit exposée à l’humidité, voilà pourquoi il est difficile de démarquer la « zone humide » de la « zone sèche ». Par conséquent, la salle de bain dans son ensemble doit être assez bien protégée de l’eau et de l’humidité.

DITRA et DITRA-HEAT sont des membranes de désolidarisation étanches permettant d’éviter la principale cause de craquelage des carreaux et du coulis parce qu’elles absorbent les contraintes attribuables au mouvement du substrat et assurent l’intégrité des surfaces carrelées. DITRA-HEAT est une membrane de désolidarisation étanche intégrant un système de plancher chauffant électrique — ce qui permet de réaliser de confortables planchers carrelés. Il ne reste plus qu’à sceller ses raccords et les joints au sol et aux murs à l’aide de bandes KERDI-BAND pour assurer l’étanchéité complète de la salle de bain.

En savoir plus avec ces ressources

Schluter®-DITRA : Introduction

Schluter®-DITRA-HEAT : Introduction