Tiled shower with point drain

Tiled showers are luxurious and beautiful. With an abundance of tile colors, designs, and shapes there are literally endless possibilities to enhance the aesthetics of the entire bathroom.

Unlike fiberglass shower stall units, tiled showers have a smart, sophisticated look that makes a statement even in the most basic bathroom. The size of the shower can be customized to fit any space, and the finished result adds value to your home. Easy to clean and maintain, tiled showers offer aesthetic appeal with unmatched durability.

Tiled showers also allow for flexibility when installing the latest features, such as benches, niches, multiple shower heads, and steam units.

Waterproofing in the Shower

No matter the cost or extravagance of a tile installation project, the integrity of the tile is only as good as its foundation. Contrary to popular belief, tile and grout joints (even sealed grout joints) are not waterproof. Moisture that penetrates these areas and collects in the wall cavities or floor structure is the primary cause of leaks and mold. In order to create a tiled shower that will last a lifetime, a waterproofing system is needed beneath the tile covering.

Let’s take a look at two options for waterproofing your shower, both featuring the KERDI-DRAIN. Each of the two applications below is identical, but they explore two different options for moisture management: KERDI-BOARD and KERDI.

1. KERDI-BOARD

In this shower, we are using KERDI-BOARD building panels, instead of gypsum or cement board, to create the shower walls. Waterproof and vapor-retardant, KERDI-BOARD is a multifunctional tile substrate that is ideal for bonded waterproofing shower assemblies with tile. Even, impact-resistant, and rigid, KERDI-BOARD makes it easy to achieve plumb and level surfaces with square corners, simplifying tile installation.

Unlike gypsum or cement board panels that require additional waterproofing measures, KERDI-BOARD is ready to be tiled as soon as it’s installed so combines two steps into one. Made of lightweight XPS foam, KERDI-BOARD is easy to handle and cut, making installation a breeze.

KERDI-BOARD is the ideal substrate for your tile shower!

Schluter®-KERDI-BOARD

Schluter®-
KERDI-BOARD

Waterproof, multifunctional tile substrate and building panel

2. KERDI-BAND

KERDI-BAND is a waterproofing strip used to seal all KERDI-BOARD butt joints, screw penetrations, and the connection between the KERDI-BOARD panels on the walls with the KERDI membrane laminated to the shower tray. KERDI-BAND is only 4 one-thousands of an inch (4 mil)-thick, half the thickness of KERDI thus limiting buildup, and ensuring a smooth surface for tile installation.
Schluter®-KERDI-BAND

Schluter®-
KERDI-BAND

Waterproofing strip for sealing abutting joints of Schluter® membranes and building panels

3. Waterproofing corners

KERDI-KERECK-F are preformed, seamless corners made of KERDI for waterproofing inside and outside corners. Corners tend to be challenging areas to waterproof, so these corners greatly simplify installation.
Schluter®-KERDI-KERECK-F/-KERS-B

Schluter®-
KERDI-KERECK-F/-KERS-B

Preformed, waterproofing corners

4. Pipe and mixing valve seals

KERDI-SEAL-PS & -MV are used to seal pipe protrusions (PS) and protect solid backing panels at the mixing valve (-MV). They are made of KERDI waterproofing membrane and feature overmolded rubber gaskets to ensure a fully watertight seal.
Schluter®-KERDI-SEAL-PS/-MV

Schluter®-
KERDI-SEAL-PS/-MV

Prefabricated seals for pipe protrusions

5. KERDI-DRAIN

KERDI-DRAIN features an integrated bonding flange that provides a large contact area for adhering the KERDI waterproofing membrane and creating a secure waterproof connection at the top of the drain assembly. 2” and 3” outlets are available making it simple to connect to standard plumbing.

The grate assembly accommodates a wide range of tile thicknesses and allows lateral and tilt adjustment as well. The tileable covering support is placed flush with the top of the bonding flange and can therefore accommodate any thickness tile covering.

In this KERDI-BOARD shower we see the KERDI-DRAIN featured with the 4” stainless steel grate option. Grate choices are available in an array of finishes, or with the tileable version for a virtually invisible drainage line.

Schluter®-KERDI-DRAIN

Schluter®-
KERDI-DRAIN

Floor drain with integrated bonding flange

6. KERDI Waterproofing Membrane

The KERDI membrane is used here to cover the shower tray and curb, and integrate with the KERDI-DRAIN bonding flange. The KERDI membrane is sealed to the KERDI-BOARD on the walls using KERDI-BAND, thus ensuring the connection between the floor and wall is fully watertight.
Schluter®-KERDI

Schluter®-
KERDI

Bonded waterproofing and vapor-retardant membrane

7. Shower Base

Schluter®-KERDI-SHOWER-ST

Schluter®-
KERDI-SHOWER-ST

Prefabricated sloped shower tray

8. Prefabricated Shower Curb

The KERDI-SHOWER-SC shower curb featured here is one element of the full line of prefabricated substrates available that are made of lightweight, expanded polystyrene foam, and can be used in conjunction with the KERDI or KERDI-DS waterproofing membrane. You can cut the shower curb to size, or combine multiple curbs together for larger commercial steam showers.

The KERDI-BOARD-SC, a shower curb made entirely of KERDI-BOARD, is also available to integrate with the Schluter®-Shower System. KERDI-BOARD-SC is waterproof, easy to install, and ready for tile, making it a simple solution for tiled shower curbs.

Schluter®-KERDI-SHOWER-SC

Schluter®-
KERDI-SHOWER-SC

Prefabricated shower curb

1. KERDI Waterproofing Membrane

In this shower application, the KERDI waterproofing membrane has been applied to the solid backing on the walls, as well as the shower base and curb. KERDI is a pliable, sheet-applied polyethylene waterproofing membrane and vapor retarder that has been specifically designed for tile applications. Since it is made of inorganic materials, KERDI will not promote mold growth within the system. By providing reliable waterproofing directly behind the tile, KERDI eliminates the potential for moisture to seep into the shower base or the tile backing on walls, thus protecting moisture-sensitive building materials such as wood framing, plywood, and OSB and allowing the tile covering to dry between uses.
Schluter®-KERDI

Schluter®-
KERDI

Bonded waterproofing and vapor-retardant membrane

2. KERDI-BAND

KERDI-BAND is a waterproofing strip used to seal all KERDI seams, and floor-wall transitions. KERDI-BAND is only 4 one-thousands of an inch (4 mil) –thick, which is half the thickness of KERDI, and limits buildup and ensures a smooth surface for tile installation.
Schluter®-KERDI-BAND

Schluter®-
KERDI-BAND

Waterproofing strip for sealing abutting joints of Schluter® membranes and building panels

3. Waterproofing corners

KERDI-KERECK-F are preformed, seamless corners made of KERDI for waterproofing inside and outside corners. Corners tend to be challenging areas to waterproof, so these corners greatly simplify installation.
Schluter®-KERDI-KERECK-F/-KERS-B

Schluter®-
KERDI-KERECK-F/-KERS-B

Preformed, waterproofing corners

4. Pipe and mixing valve seals

KERDI-SEAL-PS & -MV are used to seal pipe protrusions (PS) and protect solid backing panels at the mixing valve (-MV). They are made of KERDI waterproofing membrane and feature overmolded rubber gaskets to ensure a fully watertight seal.
Schluter®-KERDI-SEAL-PS/-MV

Schluter®-
KERDI-SEAL-PS/-MV

Prefabricated seals for pipe protrusions

5. KERDI-DRAIN

KERDI-DRAIN features an integrated bonding flange that provides a large contact area for adhering the KERDI waterproofing membrane and creating a waterproof connection at the top of the drain assembly, rather than below. 2” and 3” outlets are available making it simple to connect to standard plumbing.

The grate assembly accommodates a wide range of tile thicknesses and allows lateral and tilt adjustment as well. The covering support is placed flush with the top of the bonding flange and can therefore accommodate any thickness tile covering.

In this KERDI shower we see the KERDI-DRAIN featured with the 4” stainless steel grate option. Grate choices are available in an array of finishes, or with the tileable covering support for a virtually invisible drainage line

Schluter®-KERDI-DRAIN

Schluter®-
KERDI-DRAIN

Floor drain with integrated bonding flange

6. Shower Base

The KERDI-SHOWER-ST is prefabricated, sloped shower tray made of lightweight, expanded polystyrene. This shower tray can be cut to size or extended using dry-pack mortar.

In cases where the configuration of the shower does not allow for the use of a prefabricated tray, the KERDI-DRAIN can also be used with a sloped mortar bed.

Schluter®-KERDI-SHOWER-ST

Schluter®-
KERDI-SHOWER-ST

Prefabricated sloped shower tray

7. Prefabricated Shower Curb

In this application we see the KERDI-SHOWER-SC polystyrene shower curb, specifically designed to integrate with the shower system. Other options that can be added include prefabricated shower benches, niches, and ramps.
Schluter®-KERDI-SHOWER-SC

Schluter®-
KERDI-SHOWER-SC

Prefabricated shower curb

Watch the Mike Holmes crew build a KERDI-BOARD shower from scratch

Douche carrelée avec drain standard

Les douches carrelées sont luxueuses et très esthétiques. L’abondance de couleurs, motifs et formes de carreaux donne des possibilités infinies pour agrémenter toute la salle de bain.

Contrairement aux cabines de douche en fibre de verre, les douches carrelées ont une allure raffinée qui tranche même dans les salles de bain les plus modestes. La taille de la douche s’adapte à tout espace, et le résultat fini ajoute de la valeur à votre demeure. Faciles à nettoyer et entretenir, les douches carrelées combinent cachet esthétique et durabilité inégalée.

Les douches carrelées s’adaptent également aux accessoires dernier cri, comme des bancs et niches de douche, des pommes de douche multiples et des jets de vapeur.

Étanchéité dans la douche

Quels que soient le coût ou l’originalité d’un projet de carrelage, son intégrité dépendra avant tout de ses assises. Contrairement à la croyance populaire, les carreaux et le coulis (même scellés) ne sont pas étanches. L’humidité s’y infiltre et gagne les cavités murales ou la structure du plancher; voilà la principale cause de moisissures. Or, afin de créer une douche carrelée qui durera pour toujours, il faut poser un système d’étanchéité sous le revêtement de sol.

Examinons de plus près deux options pour réaliser l’étanchéité de votre douche, intégrant toutes deux le drain KERDI-DRAIN. Ces deux applications sont identiques, mais explorent deux produits distincts de gestion de l’humidité, soit le panneau KERDI-BOARD et la membrane KERDI.

1. KERDI-BOARD

Pour cette douche, nous avons construit les murs au moyen de panneaux de construction KERDI-BOARD Étanche et pare-vapeur, KERDI-BOARD est un support à carreler multifonctionnel, qui convient parfaitement pour les assemblages étanches collés dans les douches carrelées. Ce panneau est aussi égal, résistant aux impacts et rigide, ce qui permet de réaliser des surfaces droites et de niveau avec coins d’équerre, et donc de simplifier le processus de carrelage.

Contrairement aux panneaux de gypse et de ciment, qui demandent une préparation supplémentaire pour l’imperméabilisation, KERDI-BOARD est prêt à carreler aussitôt installé, ce qui veut dire qu’on combine deux étapes en une. Composés de polystyrène expansé (XPS) léger, les panneaux KERDI-BOARD sont faciles à manipuler et couper; leur pose se fait en un tournemain.

Le panneau KERDI-BOARD est le substrat idéal pour les douches carrelées!

Schluter®-KERDI-BOARD

Schluter®-
KERDI-BOARD

Substrat à carreler et panneau de construction multifonctionnel étanche

2. KERDI-BAND

KERDI-BAND sont des bandes d’étanchéité servant à sceller tous les joints entre panneaux KERDI-BOARD, les ancrages ainsi que les raccords entre les panneaux muraux KERDI-BOARD et la membrane KERDI collée à la base de douche. Les bandes KERDI-BAND ne présentent qu’une épaisseur de quatre millièmes de pouce (4 mil), soit la moitié de l’épaisseur de KERDI, ce qui évite les amoncellements et permet de préparer une surface lisse prête au carrelage.
Schluter®-KERDI-BAND

Schluter®-
KERDI-BAND

Bandes d’étanchéité pour sceller des membranes et des panneaux de construction Schluter® placés côte à côte

3. Étanchéité des coins

KERDI-KERECK-F sont des éléments préformés monopièces pour l’imperméabilisation des angles internes et externes. Comme l’étanchéité des coins peut être difficile, ces pièces simplifient grandement le processus.
Schluter®-KERDI-KERECK-F/-KERS/-B

Schluter®-
KERDI-KERECK-F/-KERS/-B

Coins d’étanchéité préformés

4. Scellants pour tuyaux et valve de mélange

KERDI-SEAL-PS et -MV servent à sceller les passages de tuyaux (PS) et à protéger les panneaux à la valve de mélange (-MV). Elles sont faites de membrane d’étanchéité KERDI et présentent un joint de caoutchouc moulé assurant une étanchéité parfaite.
Schluter®-KERDI-SEAL-PS/-MV

Schluter®-
KERDI-SEAL-PS/-MV

Scellants préfabriqués pour passages de tuyaux

5. KERDI-DRAIN

Le drain KERDI-DRAIN comporte une bride de collage intégrée qui offre une large zone d’adhésion à la membrane d’étanchéité KERDI pour créer un raccord étanche sur le dessus de l’assemblage. Des sorties de 2” et 3” sont offertes, ce qui facilite le raccordement à la tuyauterie standard.

La grille s’adapte à une variété d’épaisseurs de carreaux, s’ajuste latéralement et s’incline. La plaque à carreler se place à l’égalité du dessus de la bride de collage et peut par conséquent s’adapter à des carreaux de toutes épaisseurs.

On voit dans cette douche composée de panneaux KERDI-BOARD le drain KERDI-DRAIN avec grille en acier inoxydable de 4”. Les grilles sont proposées dans une variété de finis; on peut aussi opter pour la plaque à carreler, pratiquement invisible.

Schluter®-KERDI-DRAIN

Schluter®-
KERDI-DRAIN

Drain avec bride de collage intégrée

6. Membrane d’étanchéité KERDI

Ici, on a employé la membrane KERDI pour recouvrir la base et le seuil de douche, et le tout s’intègre à la bride de collage du drain KERDI-DRAIN. La membrane KERDI est raccordée aux panneaux KERDI-BOARD aux murs à l’aide des bandes KERDI-BAND, ce qui assure une jonction tout à fait étanche du sol et des murs.
Schluter®-KERDI

Schluter®-
KERDI

Membrane d’étanchéité et pare-vapeur collée

7. Base de douche

La base de douche en pente préfabriquée KERDI-SHOWER-ST est composée de polystyrène expansé léger. Elle se coupe aux dimensions voulues ou peut être prolongée d’un lit de ciment sec. Offerte avec une pièce précoupée de membrane KERDI.

On peut aussi employer le drain KERDI-DRAIN avec un lit de mortier en pente lorsque la configuration de la douche ne convient pas à l’utilisation de la base préfabriquée.

Schluter®-KERDI-SHOWER-ST

Schluter®-
KERDI-SHOWER-ST

Base de douche en pente préfabriquée

8. Seuil de douche préfabriqué

On voit ici le seuil de douche KERDI-SHOWER-SC, conçu pour s’intégrer au système de douche. Le seuil est disponible en deux matériaux différents : polystyrène ( ci-dessus ) et KERDI-BOARD. Schluter propose aussi d’autres accessoires, notamment des bancs, niches et rampe de douche.

Le KERDI-BOARD-SC, un seuil de douche fabriqué en KERDI-BOARD, est également disponible pour intégrer dans le système de douche Schluter®. KERDI-BOARD-SC est étanche, facile à installer, et prêt à carreler!

Schluter®-KERDI-SHOWER-SC

Schluter®-
KERDI-SHOWER-SC

Seuil de douche préfabriqué

1. Membrane d’étanchéité KERDI

Dans cette douche, on a employé la membrane KERDI pour réaliser un assemblage étanche en recouvrant les panneaux aux murs et le seuil de douche. KERDI est une membrane d’étanchéité et pare-vapeur souple en feuilles de polyéthylène conçue précisément pour le carrelage. Comme elle est exempte de matière organique, la membrane KERDI ne favorisera pas la prolifération des moisissures dans le système de douche. Étant donné qu’elle assure l’étanchéité directement sous le carrelage, la membrane KERDI évite l’infiltration d’humidité dans la base de douche et les panneaux muraux, ce qui protège les matériaux de construction sensibles à l’humidité comme des ossatures de bois, le contreplaqué et l’OSB et permet au revêtement carrelé de sécher entre les utilisations.
Schluter®-KERDI

Schluter®-
KERDI

Membrane d’étanchéité et pare-vapeur collée

2. KERDI-BAND

KERDI-BAND sont des bandes d’étanchéité servant à sceller joints avec la membrane KERDI, ainsi que les transitions sol-mur. Les bandes KERDI-BAND ne présentent qu’une épaisseur de quatre millièmes de pouce (4 mil), soit la moitié de l’épaisseur de KERDI, ce qui évite les amoncellements et permet de préparer une surface lisse prête au carrelage.
Schluter®-KERDI-BAND

Schluter®-
KERDI-BAND

Bandes d’étanchéité pour sceller des membranes et des panneaux de construction Schluter® placés côte à côte

3. Étanchéité des coins

KERDI-KERECK-F sont des éléments préformés monopièces pour l’imperméabilisation des angles internes et externes. Comme l’étanchéité des coins peut être difficile, ces pièces simplifient grandement le processus.
Schluter®-KERDI-KERECK-F/-KERS/-B

Schluter®-
KERDI-KERECK-F/-KERS/-B

Coins d’étanchéité préformés

4. Scellants pour tuyaux et valve de mélange

KERDI-SEAL-PS et -MV servent à sceller les passages de tuyaux (PS) et à protéger les panneaux à la valve de mélange (-MV). Elles sont faites de membrane d’étanchéité KERDI et présentent un joint de caoutchouc moulé assurant une étanchéité parfaite.
Schluter®-KERDI-SEAL-PS/-MV

Schluter®-
KERDI-SEAL-PS/-MV

Scellants préfabriqués pour passages de tuyaux

5. KERDI-DRAIN

Le drain KERDI-DRAIN comporte une bride de collage intégrée qui qui offre une large zone d’adhésion à la membrane d’étanchéité KERDI pour créer un raccord étanche sur le dessus de l’assemblage. Des sorties de 2” et 3” sont offertes, ce qui facilite le raccordement à la tuyauterie standard.

La grille s’adapte à une variété d’épaisseurs de carreaux, s’ajuste latéralement et s’incline. La plaque à carreler se place à l’égalité du dessus de la bride de collage et peut par conséquent s’adapter à des carreaux de toutes épaisseurs.

On a choisi pour cette douche intégrant la membrane KERDI le drain KERDI-DRAIN avec grille en acier inoxydable de 4”. Les grilles sont proposées dans une variété de finis; on peut aussi opter pour la plaque à carreler, pratiquement invisible.

Schluter®-KERDI-DRAIN

Schluter®-
KERDI-DRAIN

Drain avec bride de collage intégrée

6. Base de douche

La base de douche en pente préfabriquée KERDI-SHOWER-ST est composée de polystyrène expansé léger. Elle se coupe aux dimensions voulues ou peut être prolongée d’un lit de ciment sec.

On peut aussi employer le drain KERDI-DRAIN avec un lit de mortier en pente lorsque la configuration de la douche ne convient pas à l’utilisation de la base préfabriquée.

Schluter®-KERDI-SHOWER-ST

Schluter®-
KERDI-SHOWER-ST

Base de douche en pente préfabriquée

7. Seuil de douche préfabriqué

On voit ici le seuil de douche composée de polystyrène KERDI-SHOWER-SC, spécialement conçu pour s’intégrer au système de douche. Schluter propose aussi d’autres accessoires, notamment des bancs, niches et rampes de douche.
Schluter®-KERDI-SHOWER-SC

Schluter®-
KERDI-SHOWER-SC

Seuil de douche préfabriqué

Réaliser l’étanchéité des raccords de la membrane Schluter®-KERDI