What type of thin-set mortar should I use when installing ceramic and stone tile over Schluter®-KERDI?

Unmodified thin-set mortar is recommended to set ceramic and stone tile, including large format tiles, over the KERDI membrane. Portland cement-based unmodified thin-set mortars are dependent on the presence of moisture for hydration in order to gain strength. Since KERDI is impervious, it does not deprive the mortar of its moisture. This allows the cement to properly hydrate, resulting in a strong, dense bond coat. In fact, after the mortar has reached final set (usually within 24 hours), unmodified thin-set mortars achieve higher strengths when cured in continually moist conditions. With applications of tile on ceilings, it may be necessary to provide temporary support for the tile until the thin-set mortar cures.

Exceptions: Certain moisture-sensitive stones, e.g., green marble, or resin-backed tiles may not be appropriate for use in wet areas or may require special setting materials. Please consult the stone supplier and Schluter®-Systems for more information.

In general, modified thin-set mortar is not recommended to set ceramic and stone tile, including large format tiles, over the KERDI membrane. Modified thin-set mortars must dry for the polymers to coalesce and form a hard film in order to gain strength. When sandwiched between two impervious materials such as KERDI and ceramic tile, including porcelain tile, drying takes place very slowly through the open joints in the tile covering. [According to the Tile Council of North America’s Handbook for Ceramic Tile Installation, this drying period can fluctuate from 14 days to over 60 days, depending on the geographic location, the climatic conditions, and whether the installation is interior or exterior]. Therefore, extended cure times could be required before grouting if using modified thin-set mortars between KERDI and ceramic tile, including porcelain tile. If extended cure times were not observed, the results could be unpredictable. This is even more important to consider in wet areas such as showers as there is the additional concern of latex leaching.

Quel type de ciment-colle dois-je employer pour poser des carreaux de céramique et de pierre naturelle sur la membrane Schluter-KERDI?

Un ciment-colle non modifié est recommandé pour la pose de céramique et de pierre naturelle, ce qui comprend les carreaux de grand format, sur la membrane KERDI. Les ciments-colles non modifiés à base de ciment Portland dépendent de la présence d’humidité pour l’hydratation et pour la dureté. La membrane KERDI, puisqu’elle est imperméable, n’absorbera pas l’humidité du ciment-colle, ce qui lui confère une hydratation adéquate créant une couche adhérente dense et dure. En fait, une fois que le mortier a complètement pris (habituellement dans les 24 heures), les ciments-colles non modifiés seront encore plus forts lorsque durcis dans des conditions où l’humidité est constante. Lorsqu’on pose des carreaux au plafond, il pourra être nécessaire de les soutenir temporairement, jusqu’au durcissement du ciment-colle.

Exceptions : Certaines pierres sensibles à l’humidité (ex. le marbre vert) ou les carreaux avec un endos de résine pourront ne pas convenir aux zones humides et demander des adhésifs spéciaux. Consultez votre fournisseur de pierres naturelles et Schluter-Systems pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

En général, le ciment-colle modifié n’est pas recommandé pour la pose de carrelage de céramique et de pierre naturelle, y compris des carreaux de grand format sur la membrane KERDI. Le ciment-colle modifié doit sécher pour que ses polymères s’amalgament et forment une pellicule qui durcit. Lorsque le ciment-colle se trouve entre deux matériaux imperméables, tels que la membrane KERDI et un carreau de céramique ou de porcelaine, le séchage se fait très lentement par les joints ouverts. [Selon le Manuel d’installation des carreaux de céramique du Conseil nord-américain de la céramique (TCNA), cette période de séchage peut fluctuer entre 14 jours et 60 jours, selon la situation géographique, les conditions climatiques, ou si l’installation est intérieure ou extérieure]. Par conséquent, il faudra peut-être prévoir des délais de durcissement plus longs avant la pose du coulis si on a employé des ciments-colles modifiés entre KERDI et des carreaux de céramique ou de porcelaine. Si les temps de durcissement ne sont pas respectés, les résultats pourront être imprévisibles. Cela est encore plus important dans des zones humides comme les douches, où il y a possibilité de réémulsification du latex.