How do I seal Schluter®-KERDI to a bathtub?

There are two methods to seal KERDI to a bathtub. Please refer to the Schluter®-Shower System Installation Handbook for complete details and installation instructions.

When the solid backing is installed over the lip of the tub

Leave a 1/4″ (6 mm) gap between the solid backing and the tub deck. Place painter’s tape to protect the tub deck. Completely fill the gap between the solid backing and tub using Schluter®-KERDI-FIX or other suitable sealant. Apply Schluter SET™, ALL-SET™, FAST-SET™ or unmodified thin-set mortar to the solid backing using a ¼" x 3/16" (6 mm x 5 mm) V-notched trowel or the Schluter®-KERDI-TROWEL.

Apply KERDI-BAND waterproofing strips or 5" (125 mm)-wide cut sections of KERDI waterproofing membrane. Solidly embed the membrane in the mortar and KERDI-FIX to ensure full coverage and remove air pockets.

When the solid backing is installed flush with the lip of the tub

Apply KERDI-FIX or other suitable sealant to the lip of the tub and spread using a small notched trowel. Apply Schluter SET™, ALL-SET™, FAST-SET™ or unmodified thin-set mortar to the solid backing using a ¼" x 3/16" (6 mm x 5 mm) V-notched trowel or the KERDI-TROWEL.

Apply KERDI-BAND waterproofing strips or 5" (125 mm)-wide cut sections of KERDI waterproofing membrane. Solidly embed the membrane in the mortar and KERDI-FIX to ensure full coverage and remove air pockets.

Comment assurer le raccordement étanche de la membrane Schluter®-KERDI à une baignoire?

Il y a deux façons de faire. Veuillez consulter le manuel d’installation du système de douche Schluter pour obtenir tous les détails et toutes les instructions d’installation.

Support solide posé au-dessus du rebord de la baignoire

Laissez un espace de 1/4" (6 mm) entre le panneau et la baignoire. Placez un ruban adhésif pour protéger la baignoire. Remplissez complètement l’espace entre le panneau et la baignoire d’adhésif KERDI-FIX ou d’un autre scellant approprié. Appliquez le ciment-colle Schluter SETMC, ALL-SETMC, FAST-SETMC, ou le ciment-colle non modifié sur les panneaux à l’aide d’une truelle à dents en V de 1/4" x 3/16" (6 mm x 5 mm) ou de la truelle Schluter®-KERDI-TROWEL.

Appliquez des bandes d’étanchéité KERDI-BAND ou utilisez des sections de membrane KERDI coupées d’une largeur de 5" (125 mm). Encastrez la membrane dans le ciment-colle et l’adhésif KERDI-FIX pour assurer une adhésion adéquate et retirer les poches d’air.

Support solide posé à l’égalité du rebord de la baignoire

Appliquez KERDI-FIX ou un autre scellant approprié sur le rebord de la baignoire et étendez le produit au moyen d’une petite truelle dentelée. Appliquez le ciment-colle Schluter SETMC, ALL-SETMC, FAST-SETMC, ou le ciment-colle non modifié sur les panneaux à l’aide d’une truelle à dents en V de 1/4" x 3/16" (6 mm x 5 mm) ou de la truelle Schluter®-KERDI-TROWEL.

Appliquez des bandes d’étanchéité KERDI-BAND ou utilisez des sections de membrane KERDI coupées d’une largeur de 5" (125 mm). Encastrez la membrane dans le ciment-colle et l’adhésif KERDI-FIX pour assurer une adhésion adéquate et retirer les poches d’air.